Tags

,

Over the weekend, we took down our Christmas tree.
It was a fitting thing to do, because I’ve been thinking about trees ever since Ian Fitzpatrick posted this image on his Twitter:

Ian Fitzpatrick's Framework for 2015

It’s fair to say that the last three months have been interesting for me. I’ve moved from being a simple freelance resource, to actually opening up to becoming a company. Companies require strategies and plans. Companies require growth.

Let’s get back to trees
On my kitchen wall, until last year, there was a tree made of wire. It was used to hang my daughter’s smaller pieces of ‘art’ that she made on scraps of paper; the stuff that wasn’t big enough to warrant a place on the fridge. We called it ‘The Art Tree’.

Then we redecorated, and my daughter moved on to making bigger installations. The tree was taken down and has been sat, hidden behind a door while a decision is made about what to do with it.

I’ve been jotting down notes on things I need to get done, or want to achieve, for my business now that I’ve got some money in the bank, and an idea of the kind of work that I want to focus on, and enjoy doing. Naturally, I started putting them on the tree.

The Resolution Tree

My framework for 2015
There it was, staring back at me: my framework.

It may be somewhat clichéd as an idea, but it fits perfectly with where my head is at and the kind of ideas I’ve been playing around with.

I’m at the root of the business, being the founder and principal employee; I have the low-hanging fruit that I can easily pluck, and I have bigger ideas that require growth, or branching out into other areas.

And like every fruit tree, once cards have been ‘picked’ then more ‘fruit’ will be borne by my tree.

Here’s to the harvest in 2015.

