I like drawing, but it’s not something I’m particularly good at. I tend to avoid it, mostly because I don’t want to end up on Shit Scamps.

But since I struck out on my own in a more strategic – but no less creative – role, I’ve begun to see the benefits of drawing my ideas on to paper instead of just writing them down. Or rather not paper, but Artefact Cards.

I bought these on a whim, thinking I might use them for a one-off project. Since then they’ve become the thing I’ve most missed when I don’t have them to hand. More than my Moleskine or iPhone. Really. I wrote a little about that feeling.

The ability to sketch out ideas, literally, onto a card that has some substance to it, has not only helped me achieve ideas quicker, but also stopped me committing bad ones to paper. This is not only because the cards cost money – and I’m frugal at heart, it’s also because with doodling I really have to focus on what I want to draw. It takes effort. And if it’s worth the effort to get a representation of what I’m thinking drawn then it’s a good idea.

Even thought I’m someone who, by any definition, is an amateur artist, I don’t know why I’ve never considered drawing ideas out in this way before. After all, the ‘adcept’ is the main currency in the world of advertising.

If you’d like to know more about Artefact Cards and how they can be used (beyond how I’ve described them) then you might want to see how their creator, John V Willshire, describes them.

Then go buy yourself a box.

