So, the fake Shell website that caught everyone out – myself included – is back. It broke for me back in early June, via the ever followable @Awoooooga. It was reported as fake in the mainstream news around that time, including in this piece in The Guardian on brand-hacking. Somehow, those sparks didn’t flare and catch. Until now.

Suddenly, the fake campaign has spread like wildfire. It’s hard to escape. @adland does a great write-up, as always.

I wondered, did the sudden change of pace that this campaign has undergone taken Greenpeace and the Yes Men by surprise?

The recent elements of the campaign are not capitalising on the authenticity of the initial campaign. And are possibly harming it. The New Statesman has already taken the originators of the campaign to task for media manipulation.

I’m starting to switch off from the message. I want the campaign to shift up a gear if it’s really going to change public perceptions and, most importantly, make a difference.

Don’t do a PETA, would be my advice.

Their whole rather be naked than wear fur campaign really made a difference. Then they got it wrong. And all the good work was undone.

I feel a bit angry miffed about the whole Arctic Ready campaign from Greenpeace. Angry Miffed at Greenpeace, not Shell. Which is discombobulating. And not at all what I’m sure the campaign is meant to make me feel.

