So, the other day I read a blog post on Brand Republic*.

Read it yourself

At first, I was angry that someone thought a person of my age had failed if they hadn’t made it to a management position. Really, that was something someone thought worthy of writing?

Well, fuck that.

What if these 30-somethings don’t want to be an agency manager? In this day and age, most agency managers I see simply toe the client line, lack the balls to make the real changes necessary, or only care about their own careers. Agencies are driven less by creative departments and more often than not by their finance department.

I can think of plenty of ‘older’ creatives who are still working – and doing better than some of the hipster start-ups currently taking up space in many an agency. Because it’s not about age. It’s about craft; it’s about knowledge (and not just of advertising, but the wider world); it’s about just being… you know what, there are plenty of reasons why older creatives (or account people, or project managers, or the receptionist) are good.

They include, for me, the following:

  • I’m unafraid to fail. After all, I’ve had more experience at it.
  • I’m happy to try new things, it’s what my creative mind wants me to do (and again, this is not just about trying new things in advertising)
  • I’m also willing to believe that there is always more than one way to go about things
  • I don’t need to be 23 to know this

I could go on. But then it dawned on me that, actually, I shouldn’t care less what this article said.

*I don’t know why I read it, as it’s not a usual destination for me – like Mashable, I feel BR is often a bit late in the day for breaking news (because like a lot of the “20-somethings” I’m using Twitter, etc – oh, the irony), but also it has incredibly poor editorial standards (typos, poor grammar, lack of hyperlinks, etc). The latter is the top reason I rarely visit.

But this one time I was incensed to read a headline that said the ad industry was about to skip a generation. It isn’t. I shouldn’t. And if it does, let it be the operational directors that get hit first, because I believe that’s where the real change in ad agencies is needed.

What do you think?

