That’s what they say, isn’t it? When you leave somewhere but a part of you wished you could stay? Because that’s how I feel about my decision to leave my current job. And it’s the people that make me feel that way.

Interesting that, back in December last year, I posted this about how my role was changing. Sadly, it never got off the ground and so a new opportunity came up and it was too good to say no to. A fresh challenge came my way. And so, I took the decision to say yes to it.

Not only am I moving to an industry that is currently vilified (finance), I’m also going client-side.

I’ll let that sink in.

After many, many years of working in ad agencies, I’m moving to the dark side. Although I will still be working in an ad-man capacity, I will essentially be working for the client – no new business pitches, etc. The environment will either be extremely good for me, or I’ll hate it instantly. I have a feeling, thanks to talking to clever financial people I meet now and again, that it’ll be the former.

And there are many other irons in fires, which I can’t talk about here. But I will as soon as I can. Exciting times ahead for me.

So, as I doubt I’ll be doing much work, I’ll take this opportunity to say thank you to RAPP. Thank you to colleagues past and present, whom I’ll miss loads.

But as I said, this is more au revoir than goodbye.

